Plots and Plotters, The history of 1798 rebellion

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Plots and Plotters, The history of 1798 rebellion

April 7 @ 8:00 am - April 9 @ 5:00 pm

$8.50
This Easter, Clifton House, the home of the Belfast Charitable Society and the original Poor House in Belfast, is running a special series of online talks at a time that would suit our Canadian neighbours.
Plots and Plotters, the history of the 1798 Rebellion will take place at 6pm, UK time ( 3pm Halifax; 2pm Ottawa; 1pm Winnipeg; 12noon Edmonton; 11am Vancouver) on the 7th, 8th and 9th April 2021 live from Belfast, Northern Ireland, via Zoom.
The one hour talk will explore the history of the reformers and rebels who made the Belfast Charitable Society a “hotbed of radical activity” in the 1790s. Hear about the Joys, McCrackens, McCabe & Cunningham who were on opposing sides of the 1798 United Irishmen Rebellion & how the Charitable Society, and its members, emerged from it, including Dr James Campbell White who went into exile in the United States.
Tickets are around Canadian $8.50 per device (not per person). All proceeds contribute to the ongoing philanthropic work of the Belfast Charitable Society, one of the oldest Charities in Ireland. To find out more, or to book, please visit https://cliftonbelfast.com/whats-on/talks/

Details

Start:
April 7 @ 8:00 am
End:
April 9 @ 5:00 pm
Cost:
$8.50
Website:
https://cliftonbelfast.com/whats-on/talks/

Organizer

Belfast charitable society